Election Results Canvases

Posted on 15 November 2017 by KWBG

BOONE, Iowa—Only a few minor changes were noted during a canvas of the recent Municipal Election results in Boone County.  The Boone County Board of Supervisors completed the canvas on Tuesday afternoon.  The official results are available on the Boone County website.

Boone Mayor John Slight was elected with 1048 votes.  There were a number of write-ins with Dean Erickson receiving 165.  There were another 92 write-in votes.

The final tally for the At-Large council position were 822 votes for Holly Stecker, 571 votes for Gary L. Nystrom and 83 votes for Jason E. McClellan.  Other official results included David Byrd over C. Scott Porter in Ward 1, 166-to-92.  The final tally in Ward 3 was Elijah Stines 257 and Nick Mallas 155.  In Ward 5, Greg Piklapp defeated Scott Degeneffe 161 to 128.

For the Boone Park Commission, Amy Landas collected 1091 votes, Everett Johnson had 1041 and Amy Pollard received 86 write-in votes.  There were an additional 129 write-in votes cast.

Other contested races in Boone County were unchanged.  Lane Shaver won the At-Large council seat in Madrid, 200 to 115 over John Brunner.  Valerie Chapman won Ward 3 in Madrid over Jeremy L. Walters, 103-to-39.  Nathan Samples was unopposed in Ward 1.

The other contested vote was Pilot Mound with three candidates for two council positions.  There were no final changes in the tally for Pilot Mound so Donald Porter ended up with 37 votes, 29 votes for Sharon Acuff and Jeffery Conis with 7.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Boone Municipal, IA

Last Updated on Feb 21 2018, 6:55 am CST

Current Conditions: Fair


Temp: 9°F

Wind: at 0mph

Humidity: 85%

Dewpoint: 5.0°F

Your 5-Day Forecast at a Glance

Advertise Here
Advertise Here